Skip to content
Derry / Londonderry Counts — Derry / Londonderry, in numbers.Local help →

Derry / Londonderry · Northern Ireland

People and living standards

Derry City and Strabane council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Derry City and Strabane

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Derry City and Strabane local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 143,810 in 2001 to 152,659 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

2001 to 2025

Derry City and Strabane council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 143,810 people in 2001; 152,659 people in 2025. 6.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Derry City and Strabane council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
2001143,810
2002144,280
2003144,629
2004145,041
2005145,447
2006145,855
2007146,742
2008147,496
2009148,053
2010148,148
2011148,191
2012148,666
2013148,721
2014149,307
2015149,589
2016150,259
2017150,589
2018150,712
2019151,236
2020150,831
2021150,834
2022150,836
2023150,859
2024152,383
2025152,659
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

2001 to 2025

Derry City and Strabane council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 38,229 people in 2001; 31,156 people in 2025. 18.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Derry City and Strabane council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200138,229
200237,595
200336,798
200435,989
200535,228
200634,734
200734,455
200834,200
200933,953
201033,702
201133,397
201233,140
201332,817
201432,643
201532,626
201632,664
201732,604
201832,519
201932,344
202032,059
202131,917
202231,975
202331,830
202431,622
202531,156
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

2001 to 2025

Derry City and Strabane council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 90,801 people in 2001; 94,965 people in 2025. 4.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Derry City and Strabane council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200190,801
200291,624
200392,494
200493,439
200594,282
200694,869
200795,702
200896,258
200996,519
201096,376
201196,185
201296,325
201396,151
201496,260
201595,954
201695,949
201795,835
201895,568
201995,674
202094,997
202194,602
202294,102
202393,657
202494,814
202594,965
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

2001 to 2025

Derry City and Strabane council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 14,780 people in 2001; 26,538 people in 2025. 79.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Derry City and Strabane council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200114,780
200215,061
200315,337
200415,613
200515,937
200616,252
200716,585
200817,038
200917,581
201018,070
201118,609
201219,201
201319,753
201420,404
201521,009
201621,646
201722,150
201822,625
201923,218
202023,775
202124,315
202224,759
202325,372
202425,947
202526,538
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 150,757 residents
How this census compares with other years

Northern Ireland’s 2021 native ethnicity categories are retained. Counts are for current Local Government Districts, not reconstructed historical districts. Different tables can differ slightly because of census privacy protection.

Ethnic group · Derry City and Strabane · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White147,34997.7%
Irish Traveller2180.1%
Roma130%
Indian8180.5%
Chinese3500.2%
Filipino2250.1%
Pakistani1030.1%
Arab880.1%
Other Asian1740.1%
Black African2080.1%
Black Other890.1%
Mixed9330.6%
Other ethnicities1890.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 21.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Derry City and Strabane council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £6,992 per person in 1997; £20,375 per person in 2024. 191.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Derry City and Strabane council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19976,992
19986,962
19997,314
20007,638
20018,075
20028,755
20039,496
200410,289
200511,130
200611,655
200711,825
200811,827
200912,058
201012,312
201112,654
201212,879
201313,276
201413,735
201513,864
201614,023
201714,426
201814,707
201915,493
202016,000
202117,000
202217,993
202319,127
202420,375
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Derry City and Strabane council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -34.1% in 1997; -21.5% in 2024. 12.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Derry City and Strabane council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-34.1
1998-35.7
1999-35.3
2000-35.8
2001-34.7
2002-30.8
2003-27.2
2004-24.2
2005-20.8
2006-20.4
2007-22.9
2008-24.9
2009-24.7
2010-23.8
2011-22.3
2012-23.7
2013-24.2
2014-24
2015-27.1
2016-27.2
2017-26.8
2018-27.9
2019-26.5
2020-23.8
2021-22.2
2022-21.6
2023-21.8
2024-21.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

28.4%

21 March 2021 · Derry City and Strabane local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-g01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

9.5%

21 March 2021 · Derry City and Strabane local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-d01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

Average home price

£189,000

July 2026 · Derry City and Strabane local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for population; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 0 to 15; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 16 to 64; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 65 or over; missing years are not zero.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

The 2001 Northern Ireland ethnicity table uses former districts; a verified reconstruction to this modern area is not included.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.